Home forum Help Search Login Register

Site Sections

User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
March 08, 2021, 06:39:48 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

Site Tips

Only Admins and Global Moderators can post threads on the News forum, but all logged users can reply to them.
Pages: [1]
Send this topic Print
Author Topic: How do bonus spells work?  (Read 262 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Valenric
Disembodied Spirits


Spell Energy / Taint +0/-0
Posts: 1


« on: January 18, 2021, 08:39:47 AM »

I am having a question regarding the correct understanding of Learning Additional Spells in the Midnight Handbook2 p. 129.

Quote
Aside from the normal process through which a channeling spellcaster learns spells, each tradition gives its followers another, unique way of gaining new spells. Each has its pros and cons, and each requires a large amount of time and energy. In any case, a channeling spellcaster can never learn more spells while he is at a given character level than his spellcasting ability score modifier.
For instance, Illeana is a 5th level charismatic channeler with a Charisma of 16 (+3 modifier). While she is 5th level, she can learn up to three new spells (beyond those granted by Channeler levels and feats) of any level she can cast. Once she learns her 3rd spell, however, she would need to wait until reaching 6th level to learn any additional spells.

It is the last sentence that is confusing me. Maybe that is because of English not being my native tongue, but the wording is totally throwing me off.

In the example given, the character would have the magecraft feat (prestidigitation + three 0th level spells, one 1st level spell), two spellcasting feats (one 1st level spell, one 3rd level or lower), five levels of channeler (and thus four 1st level spells, four 2nd level spells and two 3rd level spells - or if desired lower level replacements) and a total three additional spells chosen thanks to her Charisma modifier of +3, correct? Because if it were three per spell level, the wording should have been
Quote
While she is 5th level, she can learn up to three new spells (beyond those granted by Channeler levels and feats) of each level she can cast.
But then why the following sentence about her 6th channeler level instead of
Quote
Once she learns her 3rd spell, however, she would need to wait until her modifier increases to learn any additional spells.
Or is that sentence merely talking about the next time she gains additional spells (which would be the two additional ones thanks to her channeler level increase) and is more of an unnecessary, badly-worded, offhand remark?

And do I see it correctly, that while wizards still follow those rules, they can in theory completely break the bank and know all available spells in Midnight (restricted by their known schools) if they were to gain access to the respective looted spell books and scrolls?
Logged
Pages: [1]
Send this topic Print
Against the Shadow  |  Forum  |  Midnight & RPGs  |  Open Discussion (Moderators: Bleak Knight, Glacialis)  |  Topic: How do bonus spells work?
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
AtS Dark Mercury design by Nifelhein, based on the Mercury theme by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.089 seconds with 28 queries.
TinyPortal © 2005-2011